You are here: Home > News > Pirates Juniors News > U12 QH Rogues – 2012-13 Premiers
U12 QH Rogues - 2012-13 Premiers
U12 QH Rogues – 2012-13 Premiers in the Leonard South League

In a sensational display of teamwork, the QH Rogues defeated Blacktown Workers 10-8 to win the Phil Leonard South Trophy for the Pirates.

The game was extremely tight with the lead changing throughout the game.

Excellent pitching from lead-off pitcher Riley Burton & two catches by shortstop Dean McLeod saw the Pirates keep Blacktown to 0 runs at the top of the first innings.

Some good batting and a nice hit from Liam Morrall saw the Rogues score 2 runs to take a 2-0 lead at the bottom of the first.

As expected, Blacktown fought back and at the top of the second dig scored 5 runs to take a 5-2 lead.

Being consistent, the QH Rogues scored another 2 runs to finish the bottom of the second innings 4-5 down.

Riley Burton had reached his pitch limit so relief pitcher Nathan Byrne took over on “the mound” and pitched a sensational innings – 13 pitches, no runs, 3 up 3 down.  At the top of the 3rd the QH Rogues were still down 4-5 but had just played themselves into the game.

In the bottom of the 3rd, some good batting saw the QH Rogues score another 2 runs to take a 1 run lead.  The highlight of the innings was another good hit, this time a 3-bagger from Liam Morrall.  At the bottom of the 3rd the score was a nail biting 6-5 lead to the QH Rogues.

There was still time for a 4th innings and Blacktown was able to score 3 runs to take a 8-6 lead at the top of the 4th.

With time running out, the QH Rogues had to score some runs.

A great 2 bagger from Zach Lewis and singles to Lachie Heintz, Nathan Byrne & Liam Morrall saw the potentially winning runs scored with 2 outs.  A final play from Blacktown saw the 3rd out achieved but time had beaten them and with “time and game” called, the QH Rogues were premiers 10-8.

Every player in this team gave their absolute best in the grand final and made a solid contribution to the final result.

Game balls were awarded to 3 players – Dean McLeod for his excellent fielding at shortstop (3 catches and a great throw in a 6-3 put out), Ryan Burton for his tireless work behind the plate catching all 4 innings and Liam Morrall for his excellent batting (2 singles, 1 triple & 3 runs scored as well as a putout at 1st).

Congratulations to every player - you saved your best game of the season for the grand final!
Riley Burton
Ryan Burton
Nathan Byrne
Jack Davis
Lachie Heintz
Rhyss Housbey
Zach Lewis
Brad Lowe
Dean McLeod
Liam Morrall
Josh Watts